Caminito del Rey
Caminito del Rey history dates back to early XXth
It was built between 1901-1905 to provide access between
the two waterfalls for the construction of the hydroelectric power plants at El
Chorro and Gaitanejo.
In 1921, when the dam “Conde del Guadalhorce” was
inaugurated, King Alfonso XIII has crossed the aerial path to arrive at the
It was from this time when people began to call it as it
is known today.
Caminito del Rey Inauguration
El Caminito del Rey, meaning is the King’s
Caminito del Rey Deterioration
The passing of time and the lack of maintenance has led
to the deterioration of this unique and important masterpiece to the point
where walking on it became almost impracticable.
Almost all the way there are missing guardrails and
pavement areas which have been destroyed or disappeared, leaving only remnants
of its base.
Besides that the path has become one of the most
important climbing area of Europe which has helped to increase its fame but
also has led to numerous accidents (some fatal) over the years and has
increased its legend.
Caminito del Rey After Deterioration
There were several fatal accidents that killed four hikers in 1999 and 2000, so the Junta de
Andalucía decided to close access to the path, demolishing its initial section to prevent the passage of visitors
avoiding further mishaps.
Currently it was decreed the imposing of a fine of 6000 euro for hiking on the path or the
train tunnels (including for skipping or climbing to their closed access points).